See the World Through My Eyes

Pick up the phone!

It’s been a while since I blogged. The death threats and insults from my readers were too much to bear so I am back on the job. I will behave. I will update. I will work harder. If I am not careful, I might just end up being the biggest blogger on the planet!  Precisely what I wanted to talk to you about today. If I am not careful, this might end up being the shortest post I have ever written. Not because it’s a Monday and I am in a lazy mood but because my message is simple, clear and requires action. I am speaking to you. My conscience.


The difference between successful people and unsuccessful people is ‘the move’. The successful people simply make a move. The unsuccessful people never make a move. They think about it and sometimes talk about it but at the end of the day, do nothing about it. Let me explain what I mean by taking you on a ‘what if’ journey.

What if you were born a genius but without hands, feet, ears and eyes? Would you understand the world as you know it now? Would beauty still appeal to you like it does now?What if you woke up and you couldn’t remember your name, your family or even your closest friend? Where would you begin? What if you woke up one morning and realized you’d been in prison for twenty years on death row? How would you explain your shock and how you got there? What if you didn’t have a job? Would you be still be waiting for evening to rush to your local bar for a beer? What if your great-great-grandparents were alive? What would they warn you about? What about the children of your future, what will you advise them about life?

Sometimes I take stock of my life and I can’t help thinking that there are only two columns on my balance sheet. Opportunities and opportunities-never-taken. The latter haunts me because it is a constant reminder that my life would be a lot better than it is right now, had I made a move. What if I had picked up that call I ignored yesterday? Would it have changed my life? My mentor Mr. Manu always says, “The universe is ever trying to reach out to you to make you successful. If only, you would answer her call.” That gets me thinking and suddenly, I am thankful that I chose a career that wasn’t considered a profession 8 years ago. It was a ‘bad choice’ but it puts food on my table and I have been able to help others through it. What if I had chosen a career just because my parents wanted me to? I think I would be a drunk by now.

Why do things happen the way they do? Do you think your long lost friend called you last night by mistake? Why has that business idea been troubling you for the last two years? Why did you get a promotion? Out of hundreds of pedestrians, why did the beggar choose to ask you for a coin? We see the signs, yet we ignore. Everyday we all get a ‘call’. However, it takes a very open and conscious mind to notice a ‘call’. There is a receptor that is inbuilt that receives a signal so that by answering ‘the call’ we can discover our true destiny. When you see an opportunity, you should know that this call is for you. Life is giving you a chance. God is speaking to you. If you will only answer.

I finish by urging you to carefully observe the most successful people in the world today. Most of them have a very simple and straight-forward story. They simply answered the call.So go on, make a move! If you’re not careful, you might just get very successful.

I am writing this under heavy inspiration from one Beato, who recently answered the ‘call’ and started a financial consulting company. Her venture is a few days old but watch carefully as it unfolds into success.


11 responses

  1. Profound.

    Like

    March 14, 2011 at 4:53 PM

  2. Amazing stuff. Thanks for reminding me that I must always play my part and answer my call … and leave the rest to fate.
    Cheers lil bro!

    Like

    March 14, 2011 at 5:01 PM

  3. Thank you! Did I tell you that you’ve made my day?

    Like

    March 14, 2011 at 5:21 PM

  4. Matheri

    Well said.

    Like

    March 14, 2011 at 7:54 PM

  5. ciru

    Ciru is now determined more than ever to answer that call. Asante sana!

    Like

    March 15, 2011 at 6:47 PM

  6. Pingback: The New Girl In Town: Just Remember Everything Will Be SAWA « A day in a dog's life.

  7. Pingback: The New Girl In Town: Just Remember Everything Will Be SAWA « the BIGGER picture

  8. Robi Morro

    wow! Very well said kaka. Keep on inspiring us!

    Like

    April 14, 2011 at 10:14 PM

    • i am here for you. working round the clock to keep you glued!

      Like

      April 15, 2011 at 10:42 AM

  9. From Tanzania with love

    Inspirational! I discovered your blog a few days ago and been glued to it ever since… Thank God you answered the call so we can find somewhere do draw our inspiration from

    Cheers

    Like

    December 10, 2012 at 3:06 PM

  10. jenny

    thought provoking piece..balance sheet concept

    Like

    April 16, 2015 at 4:26 PM

Leave a Reply

