See the World Through My Eyes

Passion Flute Music

Introducing my boy Jimmy, a brilliant and creative fellow. He is coming out guns blazing! You simply can’t make this stuff up. What a guest! What a blog! Where we are…as always. All Kenyan.

By Jimmy Mwangi

Passion is not an actionable word. It is correct that those that do what they are passionate about do better, but that is not helpful advice…

The question therefore is, where does passion come from?

Passion is a result, Passion is an energy, Passion is a feeling you have when you are engaged in something that you love. It is the ‘thing’ you’d probably do for free and would find it hard to believe somebody could pay you to do it.

We often make the mistake of assuming that passion is something that we do in our private lives and not what we do in our careers. I am a firm believer that we are who we are regardless of where we are. Period. If you are different at home compared to when you’re at work, you must me the most miserable liar, to yourself and to the world!

The goal is to make anything you do at home and at work the most exciting thing to do.

So how do you find something that you will always be excited to do?  Well, its actually easier than we think.

Two questions for you my friend. What are the things that you love to do? What are the things that you’d probably do for free? (Assuming that your choice will not be immoral). These are the million dollar questions for you today.

Now that we have answers, how can we create that feeling of excitement and get paid for it?

Here are words inspired by one of my favorite speakers Simon Sinek. I am amazed at how he brings out this theory.

So lets see. What are the things that I love doing? In my free time I love the arts world.  You will find me on you tube for endless hours watching live music performances etc. Why? I love seeing how others translate the world. I’m inspired by the new ideas, thoughts and new ways of looking at the world.

Does this mean that I have to have a career in the arts, music and all?  NO! It means that I have to have a career where new ideas are explored. Where people are experimenting and trying out new stuff out linking this passion to business. I want to explore and create growth strategies, new product categories, services or business models, which change the game. Create the very things that add significant value of consumers and organizations!

I want to dedicate my career life towards the creation of Kenya/Africa’s multi-nationals. I am therefore as excited going to work as much as I enjoy watching music videos.

I guess then the formula to enjoying what we do is simple. We should be doing something that we love.

We need to find it and build a passion around it.

5 responses

  1. Kci

    Nice Jimmy!

    Like

    January 10, 2011 at 3:03 PM

  2. Free Me

    Interesting Read!Right on Jimmy!Right on.

    Like

    January 10, 2011 at 5:05 PM

  3. The Msichana

    inspiring…:-) refreshing like a cold glass of water in the sahara…:-) good work MuJimmy 😀

    Like

    January 10, 2011 at 5:36 PM

  4. Nyambura

    Food for thought at the right time of the year.

    Nice read Jimmy.

    Like

    January 11, 2011 at 1:41 PM

  5. pmatheri

    Awakening and makes one not to conceptualize the reality.

    Like

    January 18, 2011 at 5:53 PM

Leave a comment