See the World Through My Eyes

Breaking Up with Her

iris

So the time has come to let go of someone that I’ve held dear to my heart for too long. Her name is Iris. I first saw her 10 years ago one day on my way to work and instantly I knew we were meant to be. I decided I would do everything just to make her mine. She was a bit too old for me but I didn’t care. At least she was mature and had a cool head. A month later I was the happiest man as Iris and I drove into the sunset to start our lives together.

We travelled all over the country to new places meeting new faces and making friends long the way. On the road she was the envy of many girls. They couldn’t understand how a girl her age would would still look so beautiful. She was always calm even when the going was tough. She hardly complained or broke down like all the younger girls did. The sound of her heartbeat has never changed; deep and strong like a raging storm. She was always ready to go regardless of time of day or where the journey led us. She’s taken us on the most memorable road trips of our lives. She has also accompanied us on some of the saddest times. She was always up to the task. She still is.

My friends love her. To us she represents all the good times we’ve had. She has always had room for everyone and everyone has had room for her in their pictures. My family doesn’t remember who I was before Iris and my nieces will kill me if they knew what I’m a bout to do.

You see though she can’t speak, Iris talks to me. Lately she’s been telling me that I need to move on to a new adventure. Every time I look outside the window I can see her looking back at me from the driveway. She also wants a new adventure. Don’t get me wrong, we are not fighting. We just understand each other. She just wants me to see what else is out there. “Go see the world, I’ll be fine” she says. She’s a classic girl. I know that feeling so as painful as it is, I will let her go.

It’s been a great 10 years and a lot has happened. It’s not easy to break off with a car that you have come to understand so well.

Therefore I am inviting offers for my 23 year old Mitsubishi Libero Wagon named ‘Iris’. She features one of the best engines Mitsubishi ever produced; a 1.8 litre 4G93 engine and full time 4 wheel drive system. The suspension consists of 2 weeks old monroe shocks running under a regularly serviced engine. It is advisable to buy Iris as a collector’s item and complete her restoration which is at 75%.

I’ve had Iris for 10 years. It’sad to let her go but it’s time for a new adventure. And yes, this post is just about a car.

7 responses

  1. Dante Alighieri

    Came here cause I was heart broken so thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 27, 2016 at 8:54 AM

  2. If I knew how to drive a manual, and after your reading your touching story, I would buy her. She took me to the best trips yet! I loved her too. I hope the next owner takes good care of her as you did.

    All the best in the process!

    Liked by 1 person

    July 27, 2016 at 9:48 AM

  3. hamkakesh

    I know how you feel. Recently let go of my 24 year old Nissan Primera her name was not as “sexy”‘I called her Primate 😊 and our relationship was for 16 years.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 27, 2016 at 10:00 AM

  4. Anonymous

    Great piece Mike. We have to make music from that

    Liked by 1 person

    July 27, 2016 at 12:18 PM

  5. Pingback: Breaking Up with Her – The Reminiscence

  6. I cant imagine the concoctions of feelings you are going leave alone even dreaming of parting ways with my humble beast for now 9yrs

    Liked by 1 person

    July 27, 2016 at 12:35 PM

  7. Asafo-Agyei

    Great piece Mike. We have to make music from that.
    Carl-X Gh

    Like

    July 27, 2016 at 12:59 PM

Leave a comment